2018 Marshall Scholars Announced

04 December 2017

UK Government announces 2018 Marshall Scholarship winners and increase in scholarships for 2nd straight year


Washington (4 December 2017) – The British Government is today pleased to announce the 2018 recipients of Marshall Scholarship awards.  Following a rigorous and highly competitive selection process, 43 outstanding students from across America will be taking up degree courses at leading British universities in a wide variety of disciplines beginning in September 2018.

The full list of 2018 winners of the Marshall Scholarship can be found here.

I’m proud to congratulate the recipients of this year’s Marshall Scholarship, who represent the brightest young minds and leaders the U.S. has to offer”, said Sir Kim Darroch, British Ambassador to the United States,  “For over six decades, the Marshall Scholarship has played an important part in maintaining the strong bonds of friendship between our two countries. This further expansion of scholarships continues to demonstrate our commitment to our Special Relationship with the US and promoting strong academic ties.

Christopher Fisher, who chairs the Marshall Scholarship Programme, added: “I look forward to welcoming another outstanding class of Marshall Scholars to the UK next year.  Marshall Scholars are wonderful students, and their presence in British universities is a mutually enriching experience which creates great promise for our common future.

The announcement marks an expansion for the second straight year of the number of post-graduate students joining the scholarship programme and a 34% increase in scholarships offered since 2015. This year’s class marks the largest Marshall Scholars cohort since 2007. The Programme is principally funded by the British Government but also benefits from a number of partnership arrangements, in which regard significant and growing support from leading British academic institutions is much appreciated.

The expanded 2018 class also includes the first Marshall Scholarship funded by the Marshall Scholarship Endowment Fund. Created by the Association of Marshall Scholars, the official alumni organisation of the Marshall Scholarship, the Fund will support one two-year scholarship every other year in perpetuity beginning this year. The Fund is made possible by donations from over 200 Marshall Scholars, as well as a matching grant by Marshall Scholar and LinkedIn founder, Reid Hoffman (1990).

The Marshall Scholarship Endowment Fund is the alumni community’s gesture of gratitude for the life-changing experience of the Marshall Scholarship.” stated Dr. Nell Breyer, Executive Director of the Association of Marshall Scholars. “Building on the legacy of the Marshall Plan, this gift ensures that the Marshall Scholarship program will continue to thrive and have meaningful impact on UK-US ties long into the 21st century.”

Since its inaugural class in 1954, the Marshall Scholarship has remained uniquely positioned among national scholarships for its prestige and scope. It continues to be one of the only scholarships available to Americans to study any academic subject at any university in the UK. This has given rise to an unprecedented breadth of expertise in almost every academic field, producing numerous university presidents, six Pulitzer Prize winners, one Nobel Laureate, thirteen MacArthur Fellows, two Academy-Award nominees and two current Supreme Court Justices, including recently appointed Associate Justice Neil Gorsuch (1992).  With over 1,900 scholarships awarded to date, Marshall Scholars are leading the conversation and direction of some of the most critical issues of our time.

Today’s announcement offered a chance for many to celebrate and reflect on the scholarship:

"What wonderful news that not only does the Marshall Scholarship live on – but that the Foreign Office has increased its funding for this program that has enabled three generations of young Americans to get a first-class British higher education…” -Thomas Friedman (1975), New York Times Columnist and Pulitzer Prize winning author.

"Congratulations to the new class! As a Marshall Scholar, I made lifelong friends, met my husband, and explored intellectual interests that led to the research I do--and love--today."-Angela Duckworth, New York Times Bestselling Author of "Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

I knew those years [in the UK] would change my life, but I didn't know how, or how much. So travel, explore, make friends, and think hard--you will be changed forever! Be adventurous! How I envy you!" -- Harold Koh (1975), International Legal Scholar at Yale Law School

About the Marshall Scholarship

Named for Secretary of State George C. Marshall, the Marshall Scholarship Programme began in 1953 as a gesture of gratitude to the people of the United States for the assistance that the UK received after World War II under the Marshall Plan. The scholarships offer talented young Americans the chance to study for up to three years at a UK university of their choice. Today, the Marshall Scholarships continue to serve not only as a living gift from the UK Government to the US for the Marshall Plan, but also as a way to deepen and strengthen the transatlantic relationship through education and cultural exchange.

 Since the programme's inception, more than 1,900 young Americans have become Marshall Scholars.  Prominent alumni of the Marshall Scholarship include:

  • Supreme Court Associate Justices Stephen Breyer and Neil Gorsuch
  • Pulitzer Prize-winning authors Anne ApplebaumTom Friedman Jeffrey Gettleman and Dan Yergin
  • William Burns, Former US Deputy Secretary of State
  • Reid Hoffman, creator of social networking platform LinkedIn
  • Anne McClain, NASA Astronaut
  • Joshua Oppenheimer, Academy Award-nominated documentary filmmaker
  • Dr. Douglas Melton, Xander University Professor at Harvard University and Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • Nancy Gibbs, Former Managing Editor of TIME Magazine
  • Roger Tsien, 2008 Nobel Prize Winner in Chemistry
  • Ray Dolby, Inventor of Dolby Sound and former Chairman of Dolby Laboratories