Who We Are


Act_1953-47d1095492fe2Founded by a 1953 Act of Parliament, and named in honour of US Secretary of State George C Marshall, the Scholarships commemorate the humane ideals of the Marshall Plan and they express the continuing gratitude of the British people to their American counterparts.

Marshall Scholarships are mainly funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and are overseen by the Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission. The Secretariat is provided by the Association of Commonwealth Universities. In the US the selection process is managed by the regional Consulates General in Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York and San Francisco, and in Washington DC by the British Embassy.

The Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission is appointed by the British Government and consists of 10 Commissioners:

Mr Christopher Fisher (Chair)

Professor Richard Dendy

Ms Eliza Hermann

Dr Ruth Kosmin (Deputy Chair)

Ms Janet Legrand

Professor Simon Newman

Alumni Observers:

Dr Laura Lafave, 1993 Marshall Scholar

Professor Jon Erichsen

The Officers of the Secretariat are:

Dr John Kirkland Executive Secretary

Ms Mary Denyer Assistant Secretary and Head of Scholarship Administration

Ms Elizabeth Clark Programme Administrator

Ms Anna Gane Scholarships Assistant

Register of Interest for all Commissioners is available upon request.